Review: The Strange Library

The Strange Library – Haruki Murakami

Rating: *** (from *****)
Finally, my first post in Crappuccino! I hope I can contribute more in the future so the girls would not kill me because of my absence :p

I am a “non-consistent-bookworm”, if bookworm could be somehow categorized. I always have this interest on books since I was younger, particularly in fictions. I always believe books will open your horizon even broader, and in a way I have actually proven that statement by becoming my current self.

It is just unfortunate that I read less and less, all because my bad time management (I can easily blame my work but it will be a lame excuse as you will suggest). Hence I challenged myself to read 20 books this year, whatever genre it is. Guess what? I have just read two books until yesterday, and Haruki Murakami’s book of The Strange Library was my third. Surely enough, I have homeworks to be done before end of the year! 🙂

I have never read Haruki Murakami’s work before, though I often saw good reviews about his pieces here and there around internet. Shame on me? I guess so. But sometimes you just pick and choose book that you want to read depending on your thoughts. For me, it was only when I saw this particular title I decided to read his work. I admit it reminded me to Jostein Gaardner’s “Bibbi Bokken’s Magic Library”. That one is a special book that reminds me on my affection toward books and somehow triggered my interest on library.

The Strange Library, as I expected, gave different vibe. In fact, it did not at all explore any feeling on books and library. It was funnily aligned with its title itself: story about a strange, scary and nightmarish library. I do not think I want to go to that kind of library ever, especially with a librarian who wanted to do something bad to you.

Though it was telling dark story, this book successfully made me stayed in my seat until the very last page. I could not stop wondering what would happen next and if the protagonist would make it until the end. Unfortunately, the ending was pretty unclear for me. I could not sense any particular impact of incident happened in the library to the protagonist’s life. It might depend on one’s interpretation, but I believe that Murakami could add something which will give even better reference for readers to imagine different potential directions.

In the end, I think this book is a pretty good introduction to Haruki Murakami’s work. I might try to explore more in the near future to gain different perspective on his works 🙂
*this entry is also posted in nikencorner.wordpress.com

2 pemikiran pada “Review: The Strange Library

Tinggalkan Balasan

