Review: Civil War

(This entry is cross-posted on nikencorner.wordpress.com)

Title: Captain America: Civil War
Year: 2016
Directors: Anthony Russo, Joe Russo
Writers: Christopher Markus (screenplay), Stephen McFeely (screenplay)
Stars: Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson

It was another “regular” day for the Avengers. Led by Captain America (Steve Rogers), Black Widow (Natasha Romanoff), The Falcon (Sam Wilson), and Wanda Maximoff were on mission to stop Brock Rumlow from stealing a biological weapon from a lab in Lagos, Nigeria. When Rumlow commited suicide with a bomb, Wanda tried to move the explosion into the sky but it destroyed a nearby building, killing a number of Wakandan people.

This incident triggered Sovokian Agreement, supported by most countries in the workd which would establish an international governing body to oversee and control the Avengers. The team were split into two sides: Iron Man (Tony Stark) supported it because he felt on destruction happened in Sokovia, while Captain America believed that they had enough judgment to do their responsibility.

While the agreement was about to be finalized in Vienna, a bomb exploded and killed King T’Chaka of Wakanda. Video footage indicated that the bomber was Barnes (Winter Soldier). Rogers who was his best friend then tracked and tried to protect Barnes from being caught and also being killed by T’Chaka’s son, T’Challa. In the end, Rogers, Wilson, Barnes and T’Challa were captured. When Barnes was supposed to be evaluated, an unknown person called himself Zemo managed to go inside the facility and used Hydra’s trigger words to activate Barnes’ brainwashing. He questioned Barnes about the 1991 mission which revealed that there were more Winter Soldiers beside Barnes. They were still kept in Siberia, inside Hydra’s facility.

While Rogers recruited some new comrades to help him in chasing Zemo, Stark also recruited other superheroes to catch Rogers and Barnes. So what happened next? And what secret kept by Stevens for years from Stark?

I am not too familiar with Marvel’s comics because I grew up more with Europen and Japanese comics, so I never really had certain expectation on Marvel’s movies. I have been liking Iron Man after watching all the movies, and The Avengers are not that bad either (no offense, I am simply not that into it).

Captain America, honestly speaking, was the least interesting character for me. I like Hulk and Ant-Man better (after Iron Man, of course). I do not know either because of my preference or because the character itself, I found myself dotting for Tony rather than Steve, and this movie was supposed about Captain America (or so the title said). Though I acknowledged that somehow Steve’s perspective got a point, I felt Tony’s battle, inside and outside, deeper than Steve’s. Robert Downey Jr. did his part really well for me.

The plot itself was pretty interesting. Some people might perceive the ending as anti-climax, considering no battle between superheroes or war with super-evil-organization with deadly weapon. I actually liked the fact that the revenge concept was so simple, yet Zemo did an extra mile to have his goal achieved. It was also refreshing to know the villain was a simple human being, though his mind was messed up due to deep wound.

In the end, I could say I enjoyed watching this movie. Though I had this strange sad feeling about Tony and Steve walking to different direction, I somehow felt that it would strength their bond as good friends and allies. Or so I hope (not sure why I am so emotional, the comics are there anyway, lol!).

Rate: 3.5 from 5 stars

Tinggalkan Balasan

